The CSS board consists of a minimum of five and a maximum of seven members and constitutes itself. The aim is to create a balanced board with regard to gender, age, scientific expertise, and language. The board is elected by the General Assembly for a renewable period of three years. Board members operate on a voluntary basis

  • Dr. Angelika Hilbeck
    Agroecologist, Senior Scientists and Lecturer, Institute for Integrative Biology, ETH Zurich; board member of the European Network of Scientists for Social and Environmental Responsibilities (ENSSER); Board Member of Bread For All

    Hilbeck Angelika

  • Dr. Marianna Fenzi
    Social Sciences Researcher, Institute of Geography and Sustainability, University of Lausanne

  • Prof. Dr. Sergio Rasmann
    Biologist, Institute of Biology, University of Neuchâtel

    Rasmann Sergio

    Sergio Rasmann studied biology at the University of Neuchâtel, where he obtained his PhD in chemical ecology in 2006. After several years in the USA, he is now Professor back in Neuchâtel, where he studies and teaches about biodiversity, effect of global change on species interactions, biological control of insect pests, and conservation of endangered species.
  • Dr. Silva Lieberherr
    Agricultural scientist, Brot für alle


    Silva Lieberherr studied agricultural sciences at the ETH in Zurich, Switzerland. She then did a PhD in Geography at the University of Zurich and the Tata Institute of Social Sciences in Mumbai on the agrarian crisis and farmers' resistance in Central India. After her PhD, Silva changed her focus to activist research and joined the organisation Bread for all, where she works mostly on land rights, but also other agriculture related issues. She is an affiliated researcher at the Centre for African Studies at the University of Basel.
  • Prof. Dr. Stefan Wolf
    Quantum Information Scientist, Università della Svizzera italiana

    foti sw2

    Stefan Wolf is a professor for Informatics at USI since 2011. Born in Schaffhausen, Switzerland, he received a Dipl. Math. ETH, followed by a PhD in Computer Science from ETH Zurich under the supervision of Professor Ueli Maurer. After a postdoc at McGill University, Montreal, he was Assistant Professor at University of Waterloo, Ontario, and Université de Montréal, Quebec. From 2005 to 2011, he was an SNF Professor for Quantum Information at ETH Zürich. His research domain lies in the fields of cryptography, information theory, and quantum information processing. In particular, he is interested in an efficient realization of provably secure cryptographic and other information-processing functionalities based on weak classical or quantum-physical primitives, as well as in the second law of thermodynamics and its meanings.